Emina Lekaj Prljaskaj, Sandor Juhas elected minority MPs in repeated elections


Emina Lekaj Prljaskaj and Sandor Juhas will be representing the Albanian, Bosniak, Montenegrin, Macedonian and Slovenian minorities and the Hungarian minority respectively in the eighth Croatian parliament, show results of parliamentary elections that were repeated at seven polling stations on Sunday.

Lekaj Prljaskaj won 999 votes, only five more than her main rival Idris Sulejmani, while Juhas won 2,218 votes, only 20 more than his rival Robert Jankovics.

The November 8 parliamentary election was repeated on November 15 due to an excessive number of ballots at seven polling stations, one each in Osijek, Pakrac and Slunj and two each in Zadar and Sibenik.

The State election Commission (DIP) said that returns from all 6,687 polling stations had been processed now and that 60.8% of some 3.8 million eligible voters had taken part in the elections.

The Patriotic Coalition led by the Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) is the relative winner of the elections but it does not have the necessary 76 seats in the parliament to form a majority. The biggest surprise of the elections was the coalition of independent slates MOST (Bridge), which won 19 seats.

DIP will publish complete official election results at noon on Monday.